Invicta atomweight champ Ayaka Hamasaki moves up to strawweight to face Livia Renata Souza
Update: Jinh Yu Frey (5-2), who Hamasaki defeated via doctor stoppage in September, will face undefeated Janaisa Morandin (9-0) on the same card.
Ayaka Hamasaki wants to make a statement.
The Invicta FC women’s atomweight champion will move up to strawweight to face former champion Livia Renata Souza at Invicta 22 on March 25 in Kansas City, sources told MMA Fighting on Monday.
Invicta president Shannon Knapp confirmed the news and said it would be the co-main event of the card. It should be announced officially this week, she said.
Edgar: UFC getting a little silly with Interim belts
In boxing, sanctioning bodies only make money if there is a title at stake, so they recognize a lot of titles. The WBA sanctions Super, Undisputed, Unified, Regular, and Interim world championship bouts in 17 weight divisions (there used to be eight). Then throw in the WBC, IBF and WBO. And the IBO and WBF. And the World Underwear Association.
By contrast, the UFC recognizes eight weight divisions for men, and most fans can name all the champions. Not a single person alive can definitively name every “world” champion in boxing. This alphabet soup is one reason boxing is losing young fans to mixed martial arts.
WSOF Two-Division Champion David Branch Vacates Both Titles, Declares Himself a Free Agent
World Series of Fighting was kind to David Branch, but now WSOF's only two-division champion has no belts and is ready to fly the coop.
Monday, in an interview with Ariel Helwani on “The MMA Hour,” the 35-year-old Bronx native stated that he had vacated both his WSOF middleweight and light heavyweight titles and was now a free agent after four-plus years with the promotion, where he racked up an undefeated 10-0 mark during his tenure, plus two title belts.
Click Debate: Why are there now different MMA rules in different states?
It’s the Super Bowl. Tom Brady takes the snap, sees all his receivers covered and rolls out of the pocket to his right. With nothing available downfield and his check-down options smothered, Brady throws the ball away into the stands.
Immediately, the referee nearby throws a flag. Brady doesn’t understand what just happened. An intentional grounding penalty can only be called when the quarterback is still in the pocket, he thought, not when he’s near the sidelines.